top of page

Awards & Honors

​Honorable Mention for "1993" in The Best American Short Stories 2022
2021 New American Fiction Prize for The Ghosts of Other Immigrants: Stories. Judge: Kristen Arnett
Finalist, 2021 Willow Springs Spokane Prize, for short story collection
Honorable Mention, 2021 Cincinnati Review Robert and Adele Schiff Award. Judge: Michael Griffith
Semifinalist, 2021 Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize, for short story collection
Winner, The Iowa Review Award in Fiction, 2020. Judge: Lan Samantha Chang

Top-10 Finalist, Nelligan Prize for Short Fiction, 2020. Judge: Lori Ostlund
Pushcart Nomination for "Country Fiction" from Porter House Review, 2019
Nadia Christensen Prize in Translation, American-Scandinavian Foundation, 2017
Editor’s Choice Award, Best New Writing, 2014
University of Cambridge Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize, 2012
Finalist, Glimmer Train Press Short Story Award for New Writers, 2011

Residency Fellowships

Monson Arts
The Helene Wurlitzer Foundation Residency

Art Omi: Writers 
Key West Literary Seminar 
​Mary Sky Residency
Kone Foundation’s Saari Fellowship
The Studios of Key West


Maija Mäkinen is a Finnish-born writer and translator. She holds an MFA in Fiction from Boston University.

bottom of page